Aperture 2 Quick Tip - Shooting RAW+JPG

AQT___RAWJPG.jpgThis little tidbit is probably available in a bunch of different places but I thought I would post it here because it comes up in the Apple support forums so often, I get asked about it a bunch, and as someone highlighted the Apple Aperture documentation is extremely esoteric on the matter. If you have a Canon or Nikon DSLR you probably have the option to shoot RAW+JPG. This is pretty cool given that you can have your cake and eat it to. RAWs for post processing and a pretty good representation that you can email or distribute immediately with all of the in-camera goodness of the manufacturers latest greatest secret sauce. I use it for a couple of purposes, especially now that CF cards are really really cheap.

Now if you do shoot RAW+JPG you will end up with two files for every image. One with an NEF/CR2 extention and one with a JPG extention in the same folder on your card or wherever you copy the files to. When you import these into Aperture it will look like you only have the RAW image when in fact Aperture imports both. Secretly behind the scenes Aperture will store the JPG along with the RAW file. To get at the JPG and view it or use it or whatever all you have to do is right click on the RAW version and choose "New version from master JPG" or use the shortcut option+J. This will convieniently create a new version from the JPG.

Say you do shoot RAW+JPG and you want to see all of the JPG files and maybe email them to a client or blast them up to flickr or whatever. Here is a three keystroke sequence that will give you an album with all of the JPG versions as the album picks (on top of the stack for that album):

  • Command+A - select all
  • Option+L - new album from selection
  • Option+J - new version from master JPG

If you happen to stack your originals and only want your project stack picks to show up as new JPG versions just close all stacks as the first step (Option+;). One last thing for the squeamish - if you try to delete the newly created version you will most likely get the very confusing and misleading message that you are about to delete a master and all versions - ignore it. It just gets rid of the version that you just created it does not remove the imported "Master JPG" file.

RB

blog comments powered by Disqus